Since 1999, Missouri Outdoor Communicators (MOC) has awarded the Buck Rogers Memorial Scholarship to a college student interested in a career in outdoor communications. 

Currently, the award includes a $2,000 college scholarship, a one-year MOC membership and an all-expense paid trip to the annual conference. 

Applications for the 2019 Buck Rogers Memorial Scholarship are available. Please contact our scholarship chair, John Neporadny, at for more information. 

Applications for the 2019 Buck Rogers Memorial Scholarship must be postmarked no later than July 31, 2019. 

Completed applications, including clips, statement and reference letters, should be submitted to John Neporadny at or mailed to 159 Kimberly Dr., Lake Ozark, MO 65049.

The scholarship honors the memory of E.L. "Buck" Rogers, a founding member of MOC, who passed away on Dec. 22, 1997, at the age of 74. 

Rogers was born on Jan. 20, 1923, in Columbia, Mo., to O.R. and Edith Rogers. He attended Columbia's Hickman High School, then went on to the University of Missouri-Columbia to earn both a bachelor's degree in art and a master's degree in journalism. 

Rogers was a writer for Field & Stream Magazine and later was public relations director at Johnson Motors in Waukegan, Ill. In 1957, he returned to Columbia to develop an outdoors travel and fishing promotion and advertising company. In addition to co-founding MOC, Rogers was a past president of the Outdoor Writers Association of America (OWAA), and founder and past president of theAssociation of Great Lakes Outdoor Writers (AGLOW). He also was the author of a political column in the Columbia Daily Tribune. 


Year     Recipient, School

2018 Lauren Plunkett, Drury University and Noah DesCombes, University of Central Missouri

2017    Hunter Whiteley, Kansas State University

2016    Lauren Plunkett, Drury University

2015    Ben Verhoef, University of Missouri-Columbia

2014    Tim Wall, University of Missouri-Columbia

2013    Tyler Mahoney, Rockhurst College

2012    Hannah Rogers, University of Central Missouri

2011    John McLaughlin, University of Missouri-Columbia

2010    Jacob Swafford, University of Missouri-Columbia

2009    Michael Amantea, University of Missouri-Columbia

2008    Christine Tew, University of Missouri-Columbia

2007    Christine Tew, University of Missouri-Columbia

2006    Ashley Berkler, University of Missouri-Columbia

2005    Sara Muri, University of Missouri-Columbia

2004    Kelsey Dayton, University of Missouri-Columbia

2003    Raina Tamsyn Jones, University of Missouri-Columbia

2002    Paul Carr, University of Central Missouri

2001    Gregory Laslo, University of Missouri-Columbia
            Walter Wiese, Truman State University

2000    Kathleen Kerr, University of Missouri-Columbia

1999    Jason L. Jenkins, University of Missouri-Columbia